Winner announcement

The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) and Texas Innovation Alliance (TIA) are pleased to announce the two winners of the 2023 Innovation Invitational: Team DFW and Team San Marcos.  Team DFW is being recognized for its Southeast Fort Worth Mobility Proving Ground that is designed to use broadband and distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) technology to improve safety in the economically disadvantaged district in the Historic Southside of Fort Worth.  Team San Marcos plans to tackle the need for real-time traveler information across all modes to improve mobility.  Winners will receive TxDOT federal grant writing support in order to apply for the USDOT SMART Grants Program.  

The Innovation Invitational was a novel grant readiness process that prepared eight regional teams to apply for a federal grant of their choice.  Participating teams began by identifying community challenges, brainstorming solutions, and gathering feedback from subject matter experts and mentors who were paired with each team.  On September 19, TIA team representatives delivered final presentations to a panel of judges, who selected the two winners based on their ability to deploy innovative, scalable solutions that will improve transportation in communities across Texas and the country.

Participating Teams:
Bryan/College Station, Coastal Bend, DFW, El Paso, Houston, Permian Basin, San Marcos, and Tyler
Winning team: DFW
Winning team: San Marcos
© 2023 Texas Innovation Alliance.
All rights reserved.
July 17- 19